The Walking Dead…

As part of my James 4:8 clean up, I gave up watching “The Walking Dead”.  Truly, it wasn’t that hard… I was only a fan through my Hubby.  He wanted me to watch it with him and so I did.  But I was never very comfortable with the whole “walking dead” idea– or the huge zombie fad that has followed.  It always felt very evil and wrong.  The storyline was great… but it was accompanied by violence and profanity and gore that I had a hard time stomaching.  So, that was the first thing to go!

Then, Big Girl asked me to watch a movie with her.  A zombie movie.  A zombie romantic comedy.  I am a sucker for romantic comedies, so I gave it a go.

The movie was called “Warm Bodies”.  It is about a zombie who saves the life of a living girl.  In an odd twist, he begins to feel something for this beautiful living person and that warm emotion sets events in motion that leads to his “coming back from the dead”.

warm bodies 002

I am not here to recommend the movie… it was fine, but not something I would want to watch again.  Big Girl, as a teenager, loved it… and I felt she could handle all the content.  But I don’t know that I would want Little Man to watch it just yet, even at twelve years old…

But it did bring up an important theme that I want to focus on today.

warm bodies 001

We are all like zombies in a way, aren’t we?

Are we not wandering through this world, feeling the weight and witnessing the destruction of sin?

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23

The only way to get out from under the extreme weight of that sin is through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;  and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?” John 11: 25,26

Sin will always be there.  We must pray without ceasing to resist its temptation.  But, if we have invited Jesus into our hearts, this can be a much easier task… because HE will be your strength and shield!

 Your body will always be dead because of sin. But if Christ is in you, then the Spirit gives you life, because Christ made you right with God.  Romans 8:10 NCV

Once Jesus takes residence in the cold recesses of our heart, He warms it, He claims it, He fortifies it… and He takes His rightful place as King.  And we, warmed and transformed as R was in the movie, go from the walking dead to children of the King.  I would so much rather be a princess than a zombie, wouldn’t you?!

What a wonderful change in my life has been wrought,
since Jesus came into my heart.
I have light in my soul for which long I had sought,
since Jesus came into my heart.
Since Jesus came into my heart,
since Jesus came into my heart.
Floods of joy o’er my soul.
like the sea billows roll,
since Jesus came into my heart.

Claim Him as your King, friends!  Wake up from your zombie-like slumber and claim the new life God is offering you!  2014 is a new year for a new you!  A you who is grounded in the Word and sheltered from life’s storms.  Accept Him and invite Him in today!

signatureIf you are ready to accept Jesus, but want to know how… or just want someone to help you through this journey… please feel free to contact me!  I am happy to pray with you and for you!  You are not alone!

amy.walkhumblywithgod@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “The Walking Dead…

  1. I’m with you-not fond of zombie movies. But sometimes they do come in handy. FEMA has used them by making a “zombie disaster plan” to teach people how to prepare for a zombie (or any other) disaster. And you’ve done a grand job of sharing the sweet gospel using those same zombies. What a good analogy for this spiritual Sunday. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monday Praises #20 | Walk Humbly With God

  3. I have to admit, I just don’t get the whole zombie thing. I really don’t. But I love your analogy!

    Thank you for linking up with Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday! God bless!

  4. We don’t do zombies either…even though the show is filmed in our town! I’ve never watched one episode and do not plan to. Your connection between the show and the gospel is great!

  5. We don’t have a TV and don’t watch those shows. You are doing a wonderful thing to start this journey of giving up these shows. We gave up TV years ago, it is not that we are so godly, we are filthy rags and growing to know God deeper and take on His righteousness. Thanks for linking this up over at WholeHearted Home. I hope that it encourages others to stop putting such things into their minds and hearts.

  6. Pingback: Grace Alone… » Blog Archive Thankful Thursday ~ God's Plan » Grace Alone...

Leave a comment