…on new year resolutions…

I began the new year as most people do: hopeful for new beginnings and a bright future. I accomplished two things in preparation of the new year: I chose my word of the year and my list of resolutions.

My Word

I thought long and hard about the things I wanted to accomplish in 2014 as well as the things that I wanted to improve upon. Each thing I thought of seemed to revolve around a central theme: STEWARDSHIP. I need to make better use of my time. I need to better budget my money and pay off our debts and build our savings. I need to take better care of myself: my health, my weight, my emotional and spiritual well-being. I need to serve, love, and support my family so they always know they are loved, needed, and important. I need to serve my God and do my duty to be a witness to His love and His grace. Stewardship (to care for what has been given or entrusted to you) just about sums it up!

stewardship_logo_1

My Resolutions

In keeping with the word of the year, I made a checklist of things I resolved to do in 2014. The list included things like sending cards to people in my church each week, no sweets in January, make the beds and do at least a load of laundry EVERY DAY, etc… Well, we are one week into the new year and I have made a decision: MY RESOLUTION LIST IS NOW A BUCKET LIST!! I cannot make my bed everyday… I leave a sleeping husband in it each morning on my way to work! So it’s no longer a part of my resolutions… It’s a part of my bucket list!! I WILL MAKE MY BED IN 2014! It may not be everyday… And it may not be during the winter months at all!! But before December 31, 2014, I will make it!! I may not do laundry everyday… But we won’t go without clean undies! I’ll buy new ones before that happens!! I’ll send cards… But I won’t make myself stick to a certain number each week. (Now, truly, I cannot seem to fit the no sweets thing into a bucket list… So we will just scratch that one! Pass the chocolate!)

new-year-resolutions

51 Weeks to Go

Along with the resolution-turned-bucket-list list, I have an actual bucket list of things I want to try this year: crafts, recipes, travels… Just about all my pins on Pinterest!! My resolutions may be shot with 51 weeks left, but I still have a very bright 2014 ahead! No worries, no stress… After all, that wouldn’t make me a very good steward of my emotional well-being now would it?! So, here’s to the rest of 2014!! It’s looking brighter already…

4 thoughts on “…on new year resolutions…

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this post!! I believe it is so important to make your bed everyday BUT NOT WITH YOUR HUSBAND IN IT!! I just had to laugh!! Of course not in that case. I enjoyed that you put all of your resolutions deep into a bucket. Resolutions are made to be broken but I love the One Word thing as that is meant to cause growth. Thanks for sharing this over at WholeHearted Home.

  2. Pingback: WholeHearted Wednesdays Linkup #74 - WholeHearted Home

Leave a Reply

