Happy Thanksgiving!!

Oh, friends!  Today was a definite first for me!  I just have to share because my heart is rejoicing!

I have mentioned before that I am not known for my culinary expertise.  I happen to love my cooking, but my finicky family often snubs my meals and I have become quite a laughing-stock among my in-laws.  In fact, I am asked each year to bring the cups, plates, napkins, and utensils to family get-togethers.  I have made dishes before… but I am never asked to bring them again.

This year, I found myself with a unique situation.  My mother-in-law was planning to serve her Thanksgiving meal at lunch and my parents were planning a trip out-of-state to visit my grandparents.  That left us a meal down.  I got a little excited about the opportunity and declared less than a week ago that I would be making my first Thanksgiving feast for my little family of four.

I began pinning immediately.  I spent hours pouring over different recipes on Pinterest… and I pinned them all to a secret board because I was afraid of what my family or friends would say if they saw I was planning such a feast.  But with each passing day I grew more and more excited.

My parents had to change their plans at the last-minute because of bad weather.  Instead of traveling out-of-town, they would be staying home with no plans for Thanksgiving.  So with less than a day’s prep, I begged them to join us.  I knew my recipes would be more than enough to feed us all, but my mom insisted on bringing some dishes of her own to help out.

I planned everything to a T.  From the dishes I would use to the time I would have to begin each dish, I meticulously planned each step.  I was a woman on a mission with something to prove… now to six people instead of four!  We ate lunch with my in-laws and headed home… then my work began.

Thanksgiving 2013 002

Thanksgiving 2013 005

I began with the turkey… just a 3 lb breast… wrapped in bacon.  BACON!  Yum!  I had a bit of a panic having never cooked a turkey breast before.  EVER.  But once I got it wrapped and in the oven bag, I set it aside and began preparing the green beans for the crock pot… with BACON.  Are you noticing a theme?

Thanksgiving 2013 011Thanksgiving 2013 013

I had eggs to boil, macaroni noodles and sweet potatoes to cook.  And I calmly went from pin to pin checking what I was to do next.  The eggs were done and waited as I mashed the potatoes and pieced together my sweet potato casserole.  The turkey went in the oven and started sifting the dry ingredients for my homemade cornbread muffins.  The muffins baked beside the turkey as I made my cheese sauce and pieced together my mac n cheese.

Thanksgiving 2013 020Thanksgiving 2013 021

By the end of two hours, my feast was complete:  turkey wrapped with bacon, green beans, mac n cheese, sweet potato casserole, deviled eggs, maple cornbread muffins, and caramel snicker apple pie.  Of all the recipes, the only one I had ever made before was the mac n cheese!  Talk about stupid brave!

image

Mom and Dad arrived with her oyster dressing, another turkey breast, and mashed potatoes and gravy.  We barely had any space to put the food!  We all took our place around my little table, offered thanks to the Lord for all His many blessings, and prayed the food would be edible…

imageimageimage

AND IT WAS!  It was delicious!  I will never fix the green beans again… the muffins weren’t very maple-y… and the pie didn’t quite set up like it should… but it was all so yummy!  Only I noticed those things.  My sweet potato casserole was the biggest hit… and I am one happy lady.

I pray you have all had loved ones to gather with you at your table.  I pray you have all had plenty to eat.  I pray that you all have enjoyed your family.  And most of all I pray that you have offered praises to God, from whom all blessings flow.

I invite you to join me starting Sunday for my walk through the scriptures of Advent.  I am so very excited about this beautiful season!!  Love to you all!

signature

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!!

  1. Yeah Amy! Congratulations on your Thanksgiving Success! It looks delicious! My family can be finicky, too – and I get a lot of ribbing for certain recipes – but I love putting my family through the whole ordeal! Wishing you an awesome, successful Christmas season, too!

    • Thank you so much!! I was pleasantly surprised! And to have my finicky family complimenting my meal made it all worthwhile!! Thank you so much for stopping by and for taking the time to comment. It is great to meet you!

Leave a Reply

