Five Minute Friday: TRUTH

The idea is to write for five minutes flat.  No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Five Minute Friday

TODAY’S WORD: TRUTH

GO

Believe it or not, I have spent a large part of my life agreeing with other people… Yep, I am a people pleaser.  And although the turmoil and pain of the last two years has led to growth and grace, I am still a people pleaser.  But I have also become more REAL.

The truth is…

I hate sweet tea.  Shoot me, southerners, but I do!!  I would rather drink tap water!

I hate country music… not all country music just 99% of it.  Sorry, Hubby!!

I despise Elvis.  There are a lot of his songs I like… but I would rather someone else sing them!!

These three truths may not seem like big announcements to you… but they are to me.  These things have held me in bondage… the bondage of pleasing others… bondage that God is setting me free from.

Truly, guys, living in sin and getting wrapped up in the devil’s lies will not only turn your world upside down, but it will also make you question who you are, where you’re going, why you are here, and why anyone would love you.  God has set me free from all of that because of His truth!!  He is the way, the truth, and the life (John 14:6)!  Amen!!

So, now, I am seeking truth in all corners of my life.  Yes, I am still a people pleaser and I just cannot say no… which means I take on way too much and find myself drowning a lot of the time.  Truth!

But, I am discovering who I am in Christ, and the truth is… I like me!!  (even if I can’t stand the sound of George Strait!!)

STOP

 

Missional Women

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: TRUTH

    • Thanks for stopping by, Lisa… In 5 minutes, it is hard to convey that those are all things I *tried* to like because people I love like them… it was a big deal for me to openly admit it!! lol!

Leave a Reply

