Monday Praises #11

Welcome!  I am so excited to be hosting this weekly link up bringing praises to our heavenly Father!  I want this to be a community of praise, giving God all the glory!!  Feel free to link posts, past or present; vlogs; praise and worship music; whatever expresses praise to God for YOU!  Be sure to grab  the big pink button at the right so we can encourage others to link up and share their stories of praise!  Then be sure to visit all those who link up!

Today I am super excited to have my dear friend, Julie, sharing her praises.  Julie and I became best friends years ago in junior high.  Her family moved away, but we have kept in touch all these years.  She is so special to me and my family.  My kids adore her!  We have a very special friendship that I will always treasure!  Read and be blessed!!

Bless the Lord, O My Soul

When my dear friend, Amy, asked me to write a post for “Monday Praises”, I was humbled & a bit nervous, but accepted, wholeheartedly.  It is my genuine hope that you’ll be inspired & encouraged by the thoughts herein contained.

Webster defines praise as, “to say or write good things about (someone or something): to express approval of (someone or something): to express thanks to or love and respect for (God).”  I’ll only speak for myself, but sometimes, I don’t feel much like praising. When the stresses of everyday life seem to be weighing me down, like an albatross around my neck, my first thought is not necessarily one of saying or writing good things about someone or something or of expressing thanks.  My first instinct is, more accurately, quite the opposite.  It seems to be human nature to replay the problem over and over and spout off about it– rehearsing it, rehashing it, complaining and murmuring to anyone and everyone who will listen – and all the while, feeling worse and worse – helpless and hopeless.

When I think about “praise”, I think about David and his Psalms.  Even in the most dismal times of despair, when pursued by those determined to kill him; he chose to give praise to God.  Psalm 103: 1-5 reads, from the Amplified,

“Bless (affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul; and all that is [deepest] within me, bless His holy name!  Bless affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul, and forget not [one of] all His benefits – Who forgives [every one of] all your iniquities, Who heals [each one of] all your diseases, Who redeems your life form the pit and corruption, Who beautifies, dignifies, and crowns you with loving kindness and tender mercy; Who satisfies your mouth [your necessity and desire at your personal age and situation] with good so that your youth, renewed, is like the eagle’s [strong, overcoming, soaring]!”

David lived a lifestyle of praise.  He refused to give voice to his fears choosing instead to fill his mouth with praise to God.

Recently, I moved to a new town.  It has not been an easy transition and the job market is far less than favorable.  Last week, I started a job that could be considered “beneath me” at a rate of pay that is nearly half of what I made previously.  I’ve had multiple opportunities to feel sorry for myself and fear the financial situation that seems to be looming in the not-too-distant future, but I have chosen to only speak thankfulness for having a job and praise to God for His provision. Psalm 103 encourages me immensely!  I can take comfort in the fact that God will satisfy my necessity and situation with good.  As I apply these promises to my personal circumstances, my only reasonable response is to give praise to God.  He will never leave me nor forsake me.  He will work all things together for my good.

These days, I’m endeavoring to think before I speak.  When I speak praises, my spirit is lifted and my problems pale in comparison to so great a God!

Julie Carter

 About Julie (known to me as Ju-Ju Bee)

Writing my own bio is awkward, but I’ll give it a whirl & trust you’ll get at least a brief glimpse of Julie.  I am the fourth of five daughters & my dad was a pastor.  Being a preacher’s kid was both a blessing & a curse.  My parents firmly established a foundation of faith in our home & between all my siblings & myself, I’m certain we lived up to every “P.K.” stereotype that the mind can conjure.  I have lived in nine states (KY, IN, OK, NC, TN, FL, MO, CO & CA) & have met all sorts of amazing people.  Currently, I am “Back Home Again in Indiana” recently moving to be near the man of my dreams – which is a miraculous story all its own.  An avid animal lover & outdoor enthusiast, you’ll often find me hiking with my wonderful, five-year-old Golden Retriever, Magellan, enjoying the beauty of God’s creation.  We’ve strolled both the Atlantic & Pacific coasts & trekked the Rockies.  He’s an amazing companion & brings me joy daily.  I love my multi-faceted family & fantastical friends, reading all sorts of books, running picturesque trails, writing about my adventures, singing at the top of my lungs, driving my Jeep Wrangler (Reepacheep), playing with big dogs, dreaming of tiny pigs, wearing heels that are way too high & Jesus most of all!

monday praises button

Now, it’s your turn!  Link up your stories of praise!!  To God be all the glory!  Make sure to link directly to your post, not just your homepage!

5 thoughts on “Monday Praises #11

  1. Dear Julie
    True praise is something of the heart. I am reminded where God told the Israelites that they were praising Him with their lips, but their hearts were far away from Him. He called such praise a farce. When we learn to abide in Jesus, true praise comes so naturally. Nice to meet you at Amy’s.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  2. Thank you for writing and sharing your heart! It is so refreshing to hear. Life is hard and at times we get so caught up in the day to day grind. I’m sure it happens to most of us, but the perspective of Praise is one that we must choose to have in order to not get self absorbed. In order to redirect our thoughts and transform our minds as God tells us to do! This is a great reminder of that! “Lord, enable us to be thankful for what you give us and be content knowing that you are sovereign, that your love for us is immeasurable! Help us to focus on you, your unconditional love for us and your unfailing faithfulness! Thank you for a new day, fill our hearts with Praise. Take away the complaining, grumbling attitudes we may have and fill us with Thankfulness and appreciation of all that we have in you!” In Jesus’ precious name!

  3. Pingback: Monday Praises-God’s Creativity | Mommy in Bonlee

  4. What an inspiration! you are going through so much, and yet you still praise. Oh I do the same things as you mentioned, but oh this makes me want to do better! let me always have an attitude of praise! and it so helps to know I am not alone in the struggle, that I am not the only one who fails in this and has the opposite reaction. thank you. knowing one is not alone is so refreshing!

Leave a Reply

