Five Minute Friday: LAUNDRY (Day 18)

The idea is to write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.  I am also doing the 31Days Challenge on the topic of praise.  It has been interesting how God has allowed the two to be connected.  Today is no different!! 🙂

Five Minute Friday

TODAY’S WORD: LAUNDRY
GO

I have been so excited about a new way to serve my community called Laundry Love.  I have written about it here many times.  We save all our quarters for one Saturday a month when we go and pay for other people’s laundry at our local laundry mat.  You never know what kind of need they have that leads people to a laundry mat.

There have been a few occasions when middle or upper middle class families have been at the laundry mat.  Their need at the moment?  Wash (or dry) their clothes because their own machines are broken.  It could happen to any of us.  And this Sautrday… it happened to me.

The irony was not lost on me or my family: I was at the laundry mat for almost 2 hours using over $100 in donated quarters to serve over 12 families and then return home to do my own laundry and the washing machine breaks.  Not just breaks.  It FLOODS my laundry room.  And I am all out of quarters. Sigh.

Hubby was in the woods hunting.  He knew something would need to be done, but he would see to it when he got home.  I called my mom and made arrangements to wash a few loads at her house the next day.  I also asked my dad to help us remove the old machine from our laundry room.

God gave me peace.  God gave me laughter… I mean this can’t happen without somebody finding the humor in it.  It might as well be me!  But God also gave me a reason to praise!!  One load was in my mom’s washer by the time the new washing machine was slid into place.  My sweet Dad, who would offer the shirt off his back to anyone in need, felt that our service to the Lord and the community needed to be rewarded… and I humbly accepted.  God had a plan.  And I have a praise!

STOP.

 

Missional Women

17 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: LAUNDRY (Day 18)

  1. Glory and praise to God! It just amazes me how the Lord works and even when we face disasters He is planning our rewards and gifts!!! Many blessings and much love Amy!!! ❤

      • I wish I could go down under to visit my birthplace…. I live in Greece 😀 I have been living here for the past 28 years….Blessings to you my dear Amy!!!

      • Oops!! I thought it was the other way around! ☺️ well, many blessings to you in Greece!! I wish I could go see you there!! I have always wanted to see Greece!

  2. What a great ministry for people in need. I would have also been using it a month or so ago when workers messed up the wiring on our dryer and it didn’t work. It’s amazing what happens when we answer his call, right?

  3. That is such a beautiful ministry to have! It is amazing how God blessed you in the very area where you were choosing to bless others. So glad that you shared the story with us all. Visiting from Friendship Friday.

  4. Dear Amy
    My late father always said that wooden coffins do not have pockets and I can see your dad is just the same. Yes, we should never think why something unpleasant happens to us; we should rather ask why not me!!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  5. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 19 | Walk Humbly With God

  6. What an awesome idea to pay for other people’s laundry! I don’t think I would have thought of that. What a ministry. I know when I was in college, I had very little money and had to use the laundromat, and truly it was hard to find the money to do it. Your outreach of love must touch many hearts like mine! Have a great day!

  7. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 26 | Walk Humbly With God

  8. Pingback: Challenge Accepted… Challenge Complete! | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

