Praise the Lord with Your Giving… How You Can Help Someone I Love

Today is Day 13 of 31 Days of Praise.  I have had a lot to praise Him for, and today I’m not stopping!!  But today, I am doing something a little different…   So if you have about 5 minutes, please indulge me all the way to the end of this post.

I am not going to rehash my story of sin.  I am not going to retell the story of how people close to me left me in my darkest hour.  I am not going to go through the details again of how I spent months fighting the devil because he was telling me I was unworthy of forgiveness.  All of those stories are preserved in the archives.  They are part of my testimony.  You can read or reread them all you want.  But I’m not… I have moved on.

I have explained that my She Reads Truth devotions and community were a huge part of helping me overcome my sin, accept God’s Grace, and become a stronger woman of God.  But what I need to do now is be a little more specific.

I have many friends at SRT and I love them all very dearly.  But there is one friend who reached out to me in the first days and who has never left me ever.  She has been the friend I needed when I was feeling lonely.  She has been the mentor I needed when I was worried or confused or shaken.  She is my big sister… and although I only have a little brother in my biological family, I cannot imagine I could love a biological sister anymore than I do this woman.  My sister is Nannette Elkins, aka Candace Jo.

Candace Jo

Many of you know her.  Her blog, Hope in the Healing, is a beautiful ministry that touches so many people daily.  She writes beautifully and not only praises her Lord, but teaches about her Lord in ways that really hit home.  I really love this lady!

Now for the reason for this post.

Candace Jo suffers terribly with tremendous pain.  Please take a moment to read here about her story.  Your mouth will drop open, I promise.  She is in need of surgery, but her insurance company will not cover it.

Typically I read her blog through my Newsify app… but today, I was on the computer instead so I went to visit the site live.  That is how I stumbled upon a simple and easy way to help out my big sister.  And I am asking all of you… all 62 of you!!… to help too.  And spread the word to your blog followers or church members or bible study and prayer partners.  Click on the picture below, watch the video about Nannette’s (aka Candace Jo) story and then click on donate.  And donate as often as you can.  Please help me help someone I love very dearly.

Today, I am praising the Lord for my sister and her ministry and faithfulness to God.  I am also praising Him for each of you for considering this small but simple way to help a beautiful daughter of the King.  God is good!  All the time!!

I’ve seen dreams that move the mountains
Hope that doesn’t ever end
Even when the sky is falling
I’ve seen miracles just happen
Silent prayers get answered
Broken hearts become brand new
That’s what faith can do

–“What Faith Can Do” by Kutless

Forgive me, Candace Jo… I didn’t ask permission.  I hope you do not mind!  I love you bunches!

signature

DON’T FORGET!   Tomorrow I am hosting our weekly link up of praise!  Link your posts of praise to God, pictures of praise, or even videos/audio files of praise and worship music.  It is all about lifting praise to our Father.  We will be linking up every Monday, so maybe this will help us all focus on finding reasons to praise and ways to praise our Heavenly Father.  I hope you all join me!

 

6 thoughts on “Praise the Lord with Your Giving… How You Can Help Someone I Love

  1. I love your heart, Amy, to help our sister who is in need. As things are extremely tight for us financially, I will be in prayer about how I can help. Standing with you in prayer!

  2. Bless you Amy!!
    Candacejo came to be a wonderful mentor and compassionate friend when I was new to SRT and trying to understand what God and religion really meant to me. She TAUGHT me soo much, to believe in the power of Christ, when i was in deep spiritual warfare. She gave me comfort when I was terribly afraid and taught me to find comfort from His word. She helped me help my son.
    One of the most important and LOVING things she did was stand in the gap for me and prayed for me and my family- then sent me the prayer cloth to me to have…I keep it with me wherever I go.
    Always near to my heart!
    And that’s where Candacejo is too.
    I praise God for such a lovely, kind, gentle and wise soul as she.
    I praise God for you Amy, for rallying around Candacejo and doing something for a Sister who gives so much to others- Thank You!!
    May we all find a way to help in this endeavor- with praise, prayer and giving from our hearts ♡
    Much love to both of you!

  3. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 19 | Walk Humbly With God

  4. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 26 | Walk Humbly With God

  5. Pingback: Challenge Accepted… Challenge Complete! | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

