Five Minute Friday: ORDINARY (Day 11)

The idea is to write for five minutes flat.  No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.  I am also on day 11 of the 31 Day Challenge.  My topic is PRAISE.  So, let’s see if I can combine the two…
Five Minute Friday

TODAY’S WORD: ORDINARY

GO

The day is just like any other: up at the crack of dawn, shower, dress, fix lunches, get the kids up and fed, get out the door and into the world and the routine.  The ordinary.  The everyday-its-the-same-thing kind of routine… the time-to-make-the-donuts kind of life.

It may be ordinary.  It may be nothing special.  There may not be fireworks or applause or big surprises… but there is still plenty to praise the Lord for! 

I’m alive!

I’m awake!

I have a warm bed to want to stay in!

I have a home to shelter me!

I have a nutritious food to serve my family!

I have a car to get me to work!

I have a job with benefits!

I have coworkers and family members and students and friends who love me and care about me and for me!

I am greatly blessed!  God is the Divine who gave me all these blessings.  Who gave me all my ordinary.  And I praise Him for each and every itty bitty gift.  I praise Him for the routine and the mundane… because I can!  I praise Him that I have so much to keep me happy and keep me busy… because I can!  And I praise Him because He loves me enough to care about me and provide for me!  He is good.  He is great!!  He is worthy of my very ordinary, not so special, but oh-how-I-love-him-so-much praise!!! And I will praise Him… BECAUSE I CAN!!

STOP

 

 

31 Days of PraiseMissional Women

20 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: ORDINARY (Day 11)

  1. I absolutely love this Five Minute Friday! I just finished up a guest post for another blog today about my MK years, and it made me think about how much I take for granted these days. We also had a family member die suddenly just a couple of days ago from an aneurysm. Every ordinary day is truly a gift. Even the hard ones. 🙂

    • I absolutely love 5 Minute Friday! I encourage everyone to try it at least once… it really grows you as a writer. And you never know where God will lead your words until the timer starts!! Thanks so much for stopping by!

    • Amen!! I am so excited to see you here, NJ! I’ve just discovered your blog and I love your writing!! I hope we see more of each other! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 12 | Walk Humbly With God

  3. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 19 | Walk Humbly With God

  4. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 26 | Walk Humbly With God

  5. Pingback: Challenge Accepted… Challenge Complete! | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

