Monday Praises (Day 7)

Welcome!  I am so excited to be hosting this weekly link up bringing praises to our heavenly Father!  I want this to be a community of praise, giving God all the glory!!  Feel free to link posts, past or present; vlogs; praise and worship music; whatever expresses praise to God for YOU!  Be sure to grab  the big pink button at the right so we can encourage others to link up and share their stories of praise!  Then be sure to visit all those who link up!

I am super excited to have my friend LaShawn guest posting today!  Those from SRT may also know her as Junebug!

Praise Him in My Weakness

I launched JuneBugHeart earlier this year with a commitment to write with gut-wrenching honesty and vulnerability.  I had a purpose in mind.  To share my struggles.  To make a difference.  To give someone hope.  It’s been a lot harder to do than I thought.  And with this new challenge, I’ve had to ask myself these questions a lot lately;  What do I do when I reach the end of myself?  When I find out how truly limited I am physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually, do I trust God enough to work in and through my weaknesses…as much as my strengths?  

My first instinct is to run away and hide from people when life gets difficult.  I certainly don’t feel the urge to flip open my laptop and write a blog post about it.  Instead, I want to close the curtains and quickly censor out all the ugly details, lock them in a private drawer and when I feel it’s safe, invite others in.  Of course, if I really did that, my goal would be to present only the best, most polished parts of myself to the world.  Perhaps I might even be tempted to embellish a few accomplishments to help me climb up the social ladder and make a name for myself.  But that’s not what God calls me to do.

When I first felt the call to write, I wondered why God would ever ask me to share my wild, messed up story.  He must know that when people find out what I’m really like they will not take me seriously.  I’ll lose credibility.  Surely, I’ll be disqualified.  God, I’m just not good enough.

It seems like the enemy of our soul has been given the rights to the phrase “not good enough.”  I imagine him in this context ringing in the royalty fees every time someone believes that phrase to be true about themselves.  Not good enough.  Clang!  An extra coin deposited when yet another child of the King is led to believe that phrase.  It’s one of Satan’s staple lies.  His go-to weapon of choice against mature believers and new Jesus-seekers alike, who sincerely want to stand righteous before God.

Even Moses, himself, struggled with the belief that he was not good enough.  He was insecure about his speaking abilities.  Bible scholars suspect that Moses may have even suffered a  speech impediment or a disorder that caused him to stutter.  Yet, God asked Moses to speak out loud His message to a hoard of people.  He called Moses to do the very thing that made him feel the most vulnerable.

In my paraphrase, Moses’ protest may have sounded a little something like this;

“God, I can’t speak in front of these people!  I trip all over my words! Why are You asking me to do this?  I don’t have what it takes.  Surely they won’t  listen to me or believe a word I say once they hear how weak I sound.  Please, send someone else.  I’m just…not good enough.”

In Exodus 4:11-12 God responds to Moses asking him,

“Who makes a person’s mouth?  Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see?  Is it not I, the Lord ?  Now go! I will be with you as you speak, and I will instruct you in what to say.”   (NLT)

 He was with Moses and He’s with us today.  You can bet that if He sends us, He backs us.  Even when we feel vulnerable and unworthy of our calling.  He will use us despite ourselves.  Despite the messy homes, screaming babies, late term papers, failing businesses, barren wombs, empty wallets, sick bodies, and lonely hearts.  And if that still weren’t enough, the Lord—not only calls us despite our brokenness—He calls us in our brokenness, promising to be our help.  Yes, the “not-good-enough” people are highly valuable to God.

“When we were utterly helpless, Christ came at just the right time and died for us sinners.  Now, most people would not be willing to die for an upright person, though someone might perhaps be willing to die for a person who is especially good.  But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.” Romans 5:6-8 NLT

Oh friends, for this very reason alone, will we give our Redeemer all the glory, honor and praise?  He did not let our painful experiences, our struggles and our limitations be all for nothing.  Jesus is lovesick for every broken person in the world.  He is all-sufficient.  Good.  Enough.  It’s the single most  praiseworthy truth I can speak up about.   This is good news.  The gospel.

“So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”  2 Corinthians 2:9b-10 NLT

Keep sharing your story, and give Him all the glory!

Junebug

LaShawn (aka. JuneBug) is a Canadian blogger at JuneBugHeart.  A mom and an active member of the SheReadsTruth community, LaShawn writes about her own unique journey as an adoptee and ADHD’er, and loves sharing how God offers grace and love in exchange for our messes. 

monday praises button

Now, it’s your turn!  Link up your stories of praise!!  To God be all the glory!  Make sure to link directly to your post, not just your homepage!

20 thoughts on “Monday Praises (Day 7)

  1. Pingback: Praise Him in My Weakness - junebugheart

  2. One blogger LOVES this!! One blogger LOVES both of YOU!! This was awesome Junebug! Spoke to my heart today! As I leave Latvia and head back to the States I take this encouragement with me. A part of my heart is heavy as I leave these precious people that I love. You have blessed me today. Love you! ♥

    • Lol! This blogger loves you too! There’s a lot of love happening on this here page! I’m so happy that there was a blessing waiting for you in today’s post. I know how hard it is for you to tear yourself away from your precious Latvian brothers and sisters. God has placed them in your lives on purpose and I pray you will be reunited again soon. ❤

  3. JuneBug, you are gifted with the words!! Very well said and what a beautiful reminder that we have the confidence to go where God leads us in His purposes for our lives. A beautiful reminder that He equips us with everything we need and that we are to keep looking to Him instead of our own abilities. Thank you for expressing that message for us today….loved it 🙂 blessed me today, too…and I will be emailing to several friends.

    • I’m so glad this was a blessing to you Catherine! Awww yes, we can always use a reminder that He is everything we need. Thanks for the encouragement!

  4. Thanks so much for sharing this! Yes, amen! God is so very gracious and merciful to not only accept us in our messes and brokenness but to use us and give us meaning in the midst of them. He is so good because he can take even the ugliest things in our lives and bring good out of them. What a praise! Thank You, Jesus!

    • Yes, yes, yes indeed! The highest praise! Thank you Nicole. I’m joining you in giving our Redeemer a shout of praise, for taking our ugly things and turning them into a thing of beauty. So good.

  5. ” And if that still weren’t enough, the Lord—not only calls us despite our brokenness—He calls us in our brokenness, promising to be our help. Yes, the “not-good-enough” people are highly valuable to God.” I take this phrase with me into this day. Thank you, JuneBug and thanks to Amy for giving you a voice on her blog. Blessings on both of you!

  6. Thank you Amy and Junebug. I am encouraged and blessed. I often feel “not good enough” and wonder why I am doing the things I am called to do. Many times I feel like giving up. And sometimes have. I will take this with me today and meditate on it. Thanks, thanks, thanks.

    Blessings to you both.

  7. Hi Amy,

    I’m delighted to meet you! Nanette told me about Monday Praises and invited me to stop by. What a wonderful way to start your week!

    I host Inspire Me Monday and I wanted to invite you to join us! You’re welcome to share this link and any of your other devotional posts as well. Our community is quite diverse as our focus is on creativity, but a lot of us are Christian so you’ll feel right at home!

    Have a blessed week!

    P.S. I also host Wordless Wednesday and Friendship Friday – stop by and join us! :
    -)

  8. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 12 | Walk Humbly With God

  9. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 19 | Walk Humbly With God

  10. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 26 | Walk Humbly With God

  11. Pingback: Challenge Accepted… Challenge Complete! | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

