Turn the Frown Upside Down (Day 6)

I had another post planned for this morning, but I will save it for another day… I have something to say and I need to say it while it is fresh on my heart.

This Saturday was our scheduled “Laundry Love” Day.  I was so excited about going back to our little laundry mat and serving others in the name of Jesus.  My church has not embraced the idea of joining me and my mom in presence, but their spirit is there!  And lots of people are donating their quarters to the cause each month.  I am so very thankful for their support!

This particular weekend, I got out all the baggies and envelopes that had been given to me and started counting out the donations.  Over $50 had been given by sweet friends ranging in age from 10 to 80.  I was excited to add my money and my mom’s money to the mix and discovered we were going with nearly $90!!  The Lord had nearly tripled our quarters since the first month! 

My mom came by to pick me up as she always does on Laundry Love day and we drove (this time with the top up) all the way to the Coin Laundry, gabbing away as we always do.  As we pulled into the lot, my heart soared!  The lot was full of cars!!  We surely had tons of people to serve!!

But as quickly as my heart soared, it sank as I watched someone come out of the building.  Someone I recognized.  Another church was there.  They were doing what we were there to do.

I called my friend over to talk to her and discovered that they only do this act of service twice a year and by happenstance it fell on our Laundry Love day.  She explained that it was a part of a big service day where teams were sent out all over our community serving in different capacities.  They invited us in, but mom and I felt led to wait and postpone our service until next week.  They had already filled the building and we did not want to detract from their service.  Besides, there would be families thankful for the help next week just like this week.

But I am sad to admit that as my mom pulled the car out of the lot I cried.  A jealous spirit came over me and I cried like a spoiled little girl.  Why this church… this church that so many of my friends have left our church to join?  Why on our day and our place?  As if any of it truly belongs to me.

My mom, being the wonderful mother she always is, offered her love and support as I cried all the way home.  She pointed out that people who get paid on the 10th of the month would need our help next weekend.  They are waiting to clean their clothes, and God is preparing us to be there to serve them in His name.  She pointed out that my Hubby is at his last home football game with his boys and I can go and show them all some love and support.  And she pointed out that God uses all of us to serve, not just her and me.

And then it hit me like a ton of bricks.  Instead of crying in a jealous fit, I should be praising God that others are helping!!  God has foot soldiers in our town with the same desire to serve.  Why wouldn’t I expect to meet up with them from time to time?!  We are on the same team, we should be working together!!

I am glad we left.  I agree with my mom that God has a purpose for us next week and we need to be ready to serve on His schedule, not ours.  And I am glad that there are other churches that are reaching out to help others in our community.  I praise the Lord that He is calling and others are answering  the call.  Our community is too big for two women or even one church to fix alone! 

So, Lord, forgive me for my selfishness.  Forgive me for my immaturity.  Thank you for giving me my little time to grieve and for immediately pointing me back to You and Your plan.  I praise you, Father! 

signature

31 Days of Praise

I am writing 31 Days of praise for the 31 Day Challenge… and I guess sometimes praises come after hard life lessons learned.  Lessons that show a grown 40 year old woman that you can’t turn serving God into a junior high popularity contest.  Lesson learned!  Praise you, Father!

DON’T FORGET!   Tomorrow I am hosting our weekly link up of praise!  Link your posts of praise to God, pictures of praise, or even videos/audio files of praise and worship music.  It is all about lifting praise to our Father.  We will be linking up every Monday, so maybe this will help us all focus on finding reasons to praise and ways to praise our Heavenly Father.  Our guest blogger tomorrow is my precious friend, Junebug, from SRT and Junebugheart.com. I hope you all join me!

9 thoughts on “Turn the Frown Upside Down (Day 6)

  1. Wonderful post written from the heart dear Amy! Yes, we all act like little spoilt children many times in our life, instead of praising God that there are others that are also following His heart and will. May you have a blessed Sunday my dear friend! xoxoxo

  2. Amy, I really needed this post today. I have a tendency towards jealousy, especially when it comes to other churches or serving other people.
    Thank you so much and you have a great Sunday!

    • Sooo glad it is not just me!!! God has really been dealing with me in the last 24 hours. I have wanted to stew and get other people riled up with me (I think I may have Hubby stewing at the moment too)… But I keep reminding myself that I need to PRAISE HIM! I went to the football game and had the privilege to pray with the boys and cheer them on and watch them win… I would have missed all of that. God knows better than I do!! And I praise Him for that!! Love you, sis!

  3. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 12 | Walk Humbly With God

  4. I can so easily be overcome by a jealous spirit when I feel others get to where I am going ahead of me. Thank you for this raw and honest post.

  5. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 19 | Walk Humbly With God

  6. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 26 | Walk Humbly With God

  7. Pingback: Challenge Accepted… Challenge Complete! | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

