31 Days of Praise, Day 3

I am participating in the 31 Days challenge issued by The Nester.  My topic: 31 Days of Praise.  I truly encourage you to pop over and check out the other bloggers who are linking up.  It will take me all month just to go through one eighth of them… but I have truly been blessed by many of their words!!

The Verbs of Praise

1 Chronicles 16: 8-14 (NIV)  Give praise to the Lord, proclaim his name; make known among the nations what he has done.  Sing to him, sing praise to him; tell of all his wonderful acts.  Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice.  Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.  Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced, you his servants, the descendants of Israel, his chosen ones, the children of Jacob.  He is the Lord our God; his judgments are in all the earth. (emphasis mine)

Proclaim (to extol or praise publicly):

It is important to have an intimate relationship with the Lord.  We should seek Him daily in quiet, private conversation, prayer, and study of His Word.  But we also need to praise Him publicly!  Praise His name openly to others.  It is not always easy, especially if you are shy or introverted.  But giving God the Glory does not mean you have to quote scripture or enter into theological debates with people… it just means that when the opportunity arises, you offer thanks and praise to God in front of others so that others can come to know Him.

As an example:  I am a teacher.  Separation of church and state is important in my job… but being a God-follower is important to who I am.  My students know that I belong to God because I offer Him praises in front of them all the time.  And this has opened many conversations about and invitations to church.  It may be “thank you, Jesus” when I locate that paper I have been searching for, or “God bless you” when a student goes out of their way to help me or another student, or even a “praise you, Father” if we have a something to celebrate in class.  It seems small… but as my mom always says “little pictures have big ears“.  They are always listening… so I will proclaim my praises to God publicly so they can come to know Him.

Sing (to tell about or praise someone or something in verse or song):

Sometimes you just cannot contain yourself… or at least I can’t.  God puts the song in my heart and I cannot help but let it out!  It bubbles up from within me and I just have to sing His praises!!  I find music to be contagious… and it can be me alone in my car or my kitchen or with a choir or congregation and I cannot hold His praises in!  I make a joyful noise to my Father at the very top of my lungs!

Glory (to exult with triumph; rejoice proudly)/Rejoice (to be glad; take delight):

God makes me happy!  I mean truly, deeply happy!  He blesses me everyday: from my loving family, my home, and my career to restful naps, cups of hot coffee, or birds chirping outside my window.  No matter how big or small, God gives me gifts every.single.day.  I cannot help but praise Him with a smile on my face!

Seek (to go in search or quest of):

I never want to be separated from my Lord.  I am hungry to know His Word, hungry to hear His voice.  I will seek Him out each day for guidance, peace, and comfort.  His is my rock, my strength.  I am nothing without Him.

Remember (to retain in the memory; keep in mind; remain aware of):

My life is very busy.  I have written about it often.  In this season in my life, I am running here and yon to run errands for my hubby or to take kids to this meeting or that practice.  In the midst of all the running around, it is often easy to lose sight of God.  It is easy to get so caught up in the world, that I forget His promises or I lose His peace.  I need to remember Him, always keep Him in the forefront of my mind.  He is the only way I will make it through the running around…

1 Chron. 16_8-14

Are you interested in learning more about our heavenly Father?  Contact me at amy.walkhumblywithgod@gmail.com.  I am happy to help!  I can pray with you or for you and help put you on the path to an intimate relationship with the Lord.  I hope to hear from you!

signature

 

 

 

 

31 Days of Praise

Sharing with The Nester and 31 Days Challenge.

Stop by and give some love to all those who are posting in this challenge!  You will be blessed!

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Praise, Day 3

  1. Pingback: 31 Days, Day 5 | Walk Humbly With God

  2. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 12 | Walk Humbly With God

  3. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 19 | Walk Humbly With God

  4. Pingback: 31 Days, Praise Recap, Day 26 | Walk Humbly With God

  5. Pingback: Challenge Accepted… Challenge Complete! | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

