Follow the Spirit

Galatians 5:17 (CEV) The Spirit and your desires are enemies of each other. They are always fighting each other and keeping you from doing what you feel you should.

We are a sinful people.  Our sinful selves, full of self-interest and desire, are at odds with the Holy Spirit within us.  They are in conflict with each other, opposed to each other, always fighting each other.  Chasing after our own desires is completely incompatible with God’s plan for us.

And yet, we are the “me” generation.  It is all about me.  We are out for number one.  We want instant gratification and complete satisfaction.  We are never satisfied, so we are always seeking more.

This verse from Galatians is extremely important because it calls us away from this “all about me” mentality and re-focuses us on God.  But we cannot stop with verse 17… oh no!  There is more…

Galatians 5:19-21 (CEV) People’s desires make them give in to immoral ways, filthy thoughts, and shameful deeds.  They worship idols, practice witchcraft, hate others, and are hard to get along with. People become jealous, angry, and selfish. They not only argue and cause trouble, but they are envious. They get drunk, carry on at wild parties, and do other evil things as well. I told you before, and I am telling you again: No one who does these things will share in the blessings of God’s kingdom.

NO ONE who does these things will share in the blessings of God’s kingdom.  If you are like me, you may have let out a sigh of relief.  After all, I never get drunk; I don’t even go to wild parties, let alone carry on at them.  I make bad choices occasionally, sure—but I would never consider myself evil.

But then I read it more carefully.  Giving in to filthy thoughts.  Worshipping idols.  Hating others.  Being jealous, angry, or selfish.  Ya’ll!  This is me!  Maybe not all the time, but it is me just the same!  My idols may not be golden calves, but I have plenty that keep me from worshipping God.  And I may no longer be in junior high, but sometimes I act like I am.  I mean, I get jealous over clothes, sizes, and hairstyles just like any other 12-year-old girl.

These human feelings and actions may be normal in this world.  But, as a Christian, I am supposed to strive to NOT be of this world.  I am supposed to strive to be more like God.  There are no storied that place Jesus and His disciples in front of the latest episode of “True Blood” or “The Walking Dead”.  You would never have heard Jesus listening to “Top 40” tunes that glorify immortality.  You would not see Jesus in the latest footwear, with the newest iPhone, wishing He was more like the next guy who has nicer things…

So, if we are trying to be more like Christ, why are we wasting all our energy trying to keep up with the Joneses?  How to we fix this behavior?  How to we change our lives and refocus our energy on God?

Galatians 5:16 (CEV) If you are guided by the Spirit, you won’t obey your selfish desires.

That means we begin each day with prayer… and we pray without ceasing the entire day.  We invite God in and we seek His wisdom and guidance in all that we do.  And, do you know what?  He’ll provide!  He does not want us to fail… He wants more than anything for His children to be free of sin and live in harmony with our God and His children.

Galatians 5_25

Are you looking for a way to clean up your life and give it to God?  If you are, please message me and I will be so very glad to help you.  Believe me… He is worth it!

signature

 

 

 

 

DON’T FORGET!   Tomorrow I am hosting our weekly link up of praise!  Link your posts of praise to God, pictures of praise, or even videos/audio files of praise and worship music.  It is all about lifting praise to our Father.  We will be linking up every Monday, so maybe this will help us all focus on finding reasons to praise and ways to praise our Heavenly Father.  I hope you all join me!

Leave a Reply

