James 4:8… Clean Up Time

James 4:8 (CEV) Come near to God, and he will come near to you. Clean up your lives, you sinners. Purify your hearts, you people who can’t make up your mind.

Do you want paper or plastic?  Tea or coffee?  Would you like fries with that?  These are all questions with easy answers.  It may take me a while to decide which restaurant I want to eat at tonight, but I always come up with an answer… because I know what I want.  Those answers are easy, and they don’t affect my life or my salvation.

Do I listen to this song? this station? these DJs?  Do I watch this episode despite its content?  Do I stop watching the show altogether?  Do I need to separate myself from this group of friends?

These are choices that have lasting effects on my salvation.  I cannot ride the fence.  I have to make a choice.  God is showing me more and more these days that I have to choose between Him and the world.

Friends, I choose HIM!  I choose Him all day long!  But, I have to be honest and admit how very hard it is.  And I find myself trying to ride the fence just a little while longer.  I can stop watching the show after this episode; it’s my favorite one!  I am not listening to this song for the lyrics, I just like the beat.  These DJs discuss topics that I cannot condone, but that last caller was hysterical… I’ll stop listening tomorrow.

I certainly hope I am not the only one.  I hate to imagine that I am the only one trying to give my devotion to God while still watching episodes of Friends or the Big Bang Theory.  I want to get excited about the new seasons of my favorite shows, like Grey’s Anatomy, but I know what is waiting for me: sin.

I can rationalize it by saying “this is real life, life is just like this.  I can recognize that sin and stay away from it, that is not who I am.  That is not my life.  I can keep watching.”  But I am just causing separation between me and God.  He is calling us to clean up our lives.  Including these things in my life would be like cleaning my whole house spotless, but leaving all the dirty towels on the floor.  I wouldn’t want guests to see those dirty towels, and I don’t want God to see these dirty things keeping my soul from being perfectly clean.

So, I start to purge.  I’m addicted (I mean really addicted!), so I know this will not be easy.  When I fail, I repent.  I don’t give up.  God is worth it.  Come near to God and He will come near to you.  That is the promise I am holding to.  I rid myself of these things, and God will fill the void with His goodness.

399

If you are interested in going with me on this journey, leave a comment.  Maybe we can hold each other accountable!

signature

 

 

 

 

 

DON’T FORGET!   Tomorrow I am hosting our weekly link up of praise!  Link your posts of praise to God, pictures of praise, or even videos/audio files of praise and worship music.  It is all about lifting praise to our Father.  We will be linking up every Monday, so maybe this will help us all focus on finding reasons to praise and ways to praise our Heavenly Father.  I hope you all join me!

11 thoughts on “James 4:8… Clean Up Time

    • Thanks, my sis!! I cannot tell you how many times in just the last week that God has been calling me out! Thanks for the support!! I’m praying for you and Douglas! Hope you’re having a good time! ❤️

  1. Those are some common excuses for some things we allow in our lives – “it’s only a little bit, or I recognize that it is bad so it doesn’t affect me.” I once hard an analogy about letting a little bit of bad in with the good. It is like a pan of brownies (good and yummy) that has been baked with a little bit of cow manure (yucky). Do you want to eat the brownies? There is only a little bit of manure in there….

  2. Oh myh! I know you are so right, but it is so hard, partially because my husband watches some of this with me and I don’t want to be considered a fuddy-duddy.” oh I know how stupid that sounds! then I think, but my time can’t be 100% bible study either. so where is the balance? What do we do instead of these things? oh this is such a struggle for me! and how does one decide which things are ok and hwich aren’t? then there’s, being in the world but not of it. Oh this is the hardest thing, sisters, and I am struggling so much. yes, keeping accountable and helping each other would be a good thing right now. And I never thought of “big Bang theory” as all that bad. it’s been hard, but I’ve tried to give up horror movies and such, but this is just so, so hard!

    • I have a lot to share with you!! I plan to post next week on how the last month has gone… Maybe you will find some wisdom in it. Stop back by!

  3. I can relate to your blog as well. I have been convicted of the same thing. Am I watching shows/movies that are glorifying to God? (is there really any that do?) it’s definitely easy to say that this isn’t going to “hurt” me or affect the way I think, but that’s not true. The more we watch the more it has an influence on us, even when I think it’s not…it goes straight into the subconscious and takes root. I’m guilty for sure…not that I watch horrible things, but I watch quite a bit. (I’m in bed a lot so tv is one of the things I indulge in.)
    So I am in…..I need to be held accountable!
    I would also like to know how are you doing in this area as well….if you don’t mind. 😉
    (I know we have not “talked”, but I have been with She Reads Truth for a year now and have been to your blog several times….so I feel like I kind of “know” you.)
    God bless,
    Deirdra

    • Deirdra, I have been busy with the 31 days challenge, but I have lots to share and plan to post next week!! Stop back by!! Glad we are in this together!!!

  4. Pingback: Clean Up Time… Part 2 | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

