Sunday School: Jeremiah 29:11

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

It doesn’t seem so very long ago that I sat patiently in a tiny hallway beside the choir loft at church and kept vigil for a class that would not come.  I prepared lessons each week, but would sit quietly with my God because no one was coming.  At that point, I was a young mom to a little girl and a wife to a Hubby that was not at all committed to church.  We were known as the “Christian Fellowship Class”.  I had at least eight on roll, but I was the only one actively committed to the class.

Friends would walk past me on their way to their class and see me alone.  They would invite me to join them that morning… but they were members of my parents’ Sunday School class, and that would have been too awkward for me.

Then one day, a dear friend could not stand to see me sitting there alone any more.  He gathered together all the friends of our age group who had grown up together in Sunday School and youth group and told everyone they were joining my class.  And they did.

We became known as the Son Seekers Class and we had regular attendance each Sunday.  Being a group made up mostly of young couples with kids, attendance was not regular… but since our group had doubled in size, we averaged more on a Sunday than I had on roll in the other class.  We learned together and laughed together (even earning the moniker “Fun Seekers” because of our laughter each morning).

When The Sin tore through my family and rattled my church, the Son Seekers class was affected as well.  They lost two families: one because they left the church and the other because… I just couldn’t face them.  I couldn’t be in the room where I had proclaimed my love and devotion to God and face my friends knowing I had disappointed them all.

When the pastor asked Hubby and I to start a new Sunday School class, we both jumped at the chance!  For me, it meant I was back in Sunday School where I felt I needed to be… and for Hubby it meant making a commitment to our church in a new way (He had never attended Sunday School with me before).  THAT class was born and had perfect attendance for the first several months.  And then, we didn’t…

I am back to where I was nearly a dozen years ago: sitting in an empty classroom with a lesson that I prepared for no one… spending quiet time alone with God.  Hubby is usually there with me, but his duties in church often pull him to other places to prepare for the service.

If you are a regular reader of mine, I know you have seen me complain about the lack of commitment in this class.  But, each day I pray that God will turn it around.  And He is…  The Son Seekers sought me out to welcome me back.  Knowing my new class was suffering, and they were trying to rebuild themselves, it only seemed right to join groups!  So, I prepared my lesson for this morning on the book of Genesis… even though we have already covered that book in THAT class… because that is the lesson in the commentary the Son Seekers follow.  They will come to my room for the first few months to let my newbie group get adjusted, then we will move to their room because it is more convenient.

And not only that?  There are other leaders in this group, willing to take on preparing and teaching lessons.  After teaching every Sunday for a year and a half, it will seem so great to get another perspective… and some much needed rest!!

jeremiah-29_11

God is good and faithful to those who trust in Him.  I am so very excited, I can hardly contain myself!  I pray God will use our new, larger group to fulfill His will in our church.  That we will be willing to serve and to lead our church into a better place.  And, of course, I will be keeping you posted!!

signature

 

 

 

 

 

DON’T FORGET!   Tomorrow I am hosting our weekly link up of praise!  Link your posts of praise to God, pictures of praise, or even videos/audio files of praise and worship music.  It is all about lifting praise to our Father.  We will be linking up every Monday, so maybe this will help us all focus on finding reasons to praise and ways to praise our Heavenly Father.  I hope you all join me!

One thought on “Sunday School: Jeremiah 29:11

  1. Pingback: Monday Praises (Day 14) | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

