Blogtember… Personality Test: ESFJ

I am joining Jenni at Story of My Life in the Blogtember Challenge. I am not posting everyday, so I am able to be a bit more flexible in my link ups. For instance, today I am doing Monday’s blog challenge rather than the one for today. Don’t be hatin’! Today, Jenni has challenged me to take this short personality test and respond to my results.



Extraverted Sensing Feeling Judging

While I was in college, it seemed I took one of these personality tests every other month. Then, when I entered teaching, I took similar tests at my Central Office and school. Everyone has told me exactly the same (which basically proves that people rarely change): I am outgoing, emotional… and I am represented by the color orange (that was a strange one).

All else being equal, ESFJs enjoy being in charge. Amen! I mean, I wouldn’t call myself bossy… but I absolutely hate being out of the mix. I don’t even like to go to the bathroom in fear that I might miss something fun or funny or vital. I think I am a fairly efficient leader. I may not always do things in a manner you are hoping for, but you will always be pleased with the results.

ESFJs are easily wounded. And when wounded, their emotions will not be contained. They by nature “wear their hearts on their sleeves.” I would have thought that was a woman thing. I not only become emotional, but I want to talk about my emotions and get to the root of the problem (more so that others understand my point of view, and consequently discover I am right).

Generally, I would categorize myself as a people pleaser. I want to make everyone happy (which is impossible) and I hate conflict (which is inevitable). I am married to someone who is my total opposite, which makes for a very interesting home life. We complement each other well, but arguments or disagreements can sometimes go too far and lead to wounded feelings.

This test didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know about myself… it did add something, however, that I had never seen before. It listed famous real and fictional people who also tested with similar results. I was super excited to be in good company with Don Knotts and Mary Tyler Moore (love them!). And to find that I am indeed like Monica on Friends is just the icing on the ESFJ cake!

Ok, I am not ever going to be accused of cleaning in my sleep… but a lot of the others are dead on!

Take the test yourself. What did you find? Do you agree? Disagree? Share in the comments!!

Leave a Reply

