Monday Praises

Welcome!  I am so excited to be hosting this weekly link up bringing praises to our heavenly Father!  I want this to be a community of praise, giving God all the glory!!  Feel free to link posts, past or present; vlogs; praise and worship music; whatever expresses praise to God for YOU!  Be sure to grab  the big pink button at the right so we can encourage others to link up and share their stories of praise!  Then be sure to visit all those who link up!

I am extra excited to have my sweet friend Amy Hale guest posting today!

Praise for Marriage…

Thank you, Amy, for inviting me to share a testimony of PRAISE to God as part of your Monday Praises link-up! I am truly honored to be here. I want to praise God today for His faithfulness in my marriage. In June of 2001, I married my husband, Stephen. Since it wasn’t the first marriage for either of us, you can imagine the amount of emotional baggage and unrealistic expectations we both brought in to it—not to mention the fact that I even had two children from a previous marriage. We definitely had major obstacles in front of us and I’m not proud to admit that after only a few days of being married, I started worrying I had made a mistake (again) and I wanted out (again).

However, after much soul-searching and more than a few serious conversations with God, I KNEW it was time to break the destructive cycle I found myself in. God helped me understand that the reason I had been so discontent was because I kept looking to relationships with men to meet my deepest needs—needs that only He could meet. When the going got tough (and it DID), I wanted to just abandon each relationship instead of relying on Him, His promises, and allowing Him to work in and through me. Frankly, I wanted instant gratification instead of trusting Him and waiting on His plan to work.

Well, a major turning point in my life came one hard day after I made the decision to stay with Stephen. I was praying something like: “God, fix him!! Don’t You see how He is?? He’s not nice! And we’re so different! Please change him!” And God said to me, very clearly, “Yes. I DO see him. And I see YOU too. The anger, resentment, & bitterness you harbor in your heart towards him is every bit as sinful and ugly as anything he’s doing. Confess YOUR sin, submit to Stephen and to Me, and WATCH WHAT I WILL DO.”

When I recognized that I was every bit as responsible for our “less than ideal” marriage as Stephen was, I agreed with God about my sin and confessed it as such. From that point forward, it was like mountains started moving through my prayer life. God showed me that praying with a clean heart was a powerful thing.

Is our marriage perfect now? Of course not! But I am so thankful for all God has done through my willingness to wait on Him and not give up in the hard times. In fact, I can honestly say I am grateful for the hard times we’ve had. They sent me straight to my knees, where I found God’s comfort, guidance, and encouragement to keep going. By the grace of God, Stephen and I are not the same two people we were when we first got married. Yes, we both still sin and we still have a lot more growing to do, but God has taught us what it means to love and how important it is to forgive and extend to each other the grace He has extended to us. I would have missed SO many blessings had I left when I wanted to. God has kept every promise He’s ever made and I love Him (and Stephen!) dearly.

Amy Hale

Amy lives near Memphis, TN and is wife to Stephen and mom to Taylor, Sarah, and Mac. She actively participates in the She Reads Truth community and loves to encourage others by sharing the hope that God gives her through the study of His Word.

praises button

Now, it’s your turn!  Link up your stories of praise!!  To God be all the glory!  Make sure to link directly to your post, not just your homepage!

4 thoughts on “Monday Praises

  1. Good morning. Praise God for an extra day off. I am a blessed woman. I’ve written my Monday praise on my blog, The Vibrant Life. You can read it at vibrantl.blogspot.com. Have a blessed week.

    Amy, praise God for your marriage, and you not giving up. I had struggles as well early on in my marriage and God told me the same thing! We just celebrated 35 years.
    Ps. I’m sorry I left this in another place on your site. This is my fist time.

Leave a Reply

