Called to Serve

I am currently working through the Outlive Your Life study guide by Max Lucado.  I would say that I am doing working on it with my class, but since no one else is attending Sunday School I have been doing the readings alone.

I want to wallow in self-pity here.  I mean, I am leading a study on service to a group who is not committed enough to attend class.  I want to be angry even.  But the more I go through this the more I remember what it says in Isaiah 55:11:

The same thing is true of the words I speak.
    They will not return to me empty.
They make the things happen that I want to happen,
    and they succeed in doing what I send them to do.

Maybe this study wasn’t meant for my class.  Maybe it was meant for me.  And I have to admit, it has been working on me!  I feel called to do God’s work, in whatever capacity that is.  For so long, it has been for the members of my church through leadership, choir directing, making powerpoints, being the webmaster, singing, among other things.  But now I am hungry to reach outside those walls.  Maybe He is calling others in my church, maybe He is just calling me.  I, for one, have heard the call and am ready to respond.

The call first began when I started the study in late June.  I read the book (which is not necessary to the group study) and was immediately convicted to do more.  I do not feel my calling is outside my country.  I feel very passionately that the calling is to help in my own community.  I was excited to see if others in my group were having similar feelings…

I began the group study guide and really began to focus on the book of Acts.

Acts 4:32-35 

32 The group of believers were united in their hearts and spirit. All those in the group acted as though their private property belonged to everyone in the group. In fact, they shared everything. 33 With great power the apostles were telling people that the Lord Jesus was truly raised from the dead. And God blessed all the believers very much. 34 There were no needy people among them. From time to time those who owned fields or houses sold them, brought the money, 35 and gave it to the apostles. Then the money was given to anyone who needed it.

Did you read that?  They were united in their hearts and spirit.  They shared everything.  There were no needy people among them.  There were no. needy. people. among them.  Can you imagine?  The church was not divided between the haves and have-nots.  The church was not controlled by one family who donates more than the rest.  The Bible says they shared everything and there were no needy people.

Acts 2: 44-47

44 All the believers were together and shared everything. 45 They would sell their land and the things they owned and then divide the money and give it to anyone who needed it. 46 The believers met together in the Temple every day. They ate together in their homes, happy to share their food with joyful hearts. 47 They praised God and were liked by all the people. Every day the Lord added those who were being saved to the group of believers.

Look, in particular, at verse 47.  Every day the Lord added those who were being saved to the group of believers. The Message words it this way:

Every day their number grew as God added those who were saved.

The church grew.  Daily!  People were saved each and every day because of what the apostles and other believers were doing.  They sold all they owned.  The shared all they had.  There were no needy among them.  AND THE CHURCH GREW.

The Call I was feeling was confirmed several times in just a few short days.  First, I commented on a tweet that Mandisa posted about Acts 4:32.  I pointed out what verse 34 says about having no needy among them and she commented!  Mandisa commented on my tweet!  Mandisa! 

That wasn’t enough to make me feel like God was confirming my Call.  But add to it my Unveiled Wife devotion being on the joy of serving God, Influence Magazine’s premier issue having an article on a woman feeling God’s call after reading the exact same verses, and the verse of the day being Acts 1:8:

But when the Holy Spirit comes to you, you will receive power. You will be my witnesses—in Jerusalem, in all of Judea, in Samaria, and in every part of the world.

You will be my witnesses.

So, by the time I post this, I will have stepped out in faith on this calling.  I have challenged the rest of my group to join me, but if they don’t that’s fine.  This is my call.  I will share more with you in a later post.  Until then, let me leave you with a song by my new BFF, Mandisa.  If He’s calling you, don’t hesitate to answer!  He is worth it! 

Leave a Reply

