Bread and Wine: Russian Dolls

image

I joined in with the ladies at (in)Courage for their Bloom book club selection: Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist.  It is a truly wonderful book.  I have never read a food memoir before.  Each story has drawn me in.  It has left me not only wanting to open my home and my kitchen for great fellowship with friends, but to open my kitchen to Shauna and her friends.  I mean, she is great!!  I was completely drawn into her world: her family, her cooking club, and her kitchen.

One of her stories in particular, touched me very deeply.  There were quite a few stories that made me laugh out loud, and some that made me cry.  But this one was different.  It had me grabbing my journal… I wanted to remember her words always.

Shauna wrote about looking at old photos with her grandmother.  She could remember the girl in each picture.  How it felt to be 13 in this picture, 19 in that one.  She could remember the girl she was and how she felt.  And she likened it to being a Russian Doll.

russian dolls3

“She said you carry them inside you, collecting them along the way, more and more selves inside you with each passing year, like those Russian Dolls, stacking one inside the other, nesting within themselves, waiting to be discovered, one and then another.” (page 182)

russian dolls2

Isn’t that beautiful?  And oh so true!  I look through old scrapbooks, and I see the old me.  I remember how I felt then.  I remember the air, the smells, the feelings I felt.  I am very different from the girl in those pictures… and yet, she has made me who I am today.  And who knows where God will lead me… what doll new “me” is nesting inside of me, waiting to be discovered. to be let out.  to thrive.

russian dolls1

As I am on a journey to become closer to my Savior, I hope that I have many dolls nesting and waiting… bringing me closer and closer to Him.  My journey is not complete until I enter His Kingdom to live with Him…

russian dolls4

1 Corinthians 13: 11-13

11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I stopped those childish ways. 12 It is the same with us. Now we see a dim reflection, as if we were looking into a mirror, but then we shall see clearly. Now I know only a part, but then I will know fully, as God has known me. 13 So these three things continue forever: faith, hope, and love. And the greatest of these is love.

Leave a Reply

