What Does it Mean to be a Living Sacrifice?

I am currently reading Wife After God by Unveiled Wife, aka Jennifer Smith.  This morning’s devotion was very powerful to me.  I absolutely loved that it corresponded with what I am studying about service in Outlive Your Life by Max Lucado.  It talked about pure joy.

She began with a story of a friend offering a small gift of encouragement to another friend when she was down.  This small gift was a sacrifice because it took time and money for her to give it.  But this sacrifice screamed “You’re worth it!”.  When people believe that others are worth it, extraordinary things happen.

This friend did not consider her gift a sacrifice, she considered it joy.  But through her actions, she shared Christ’s love with others.

heartcross-sm

Romans 12:1 calls us to be a living sacrifice.

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. (NIV)

Jennifer makes a great connection here.  She points out that the “downfall with a living sacrifice is that it has the ability to get up and walk off the altar.”!  Of course that happens when we focus too much on the world around us and not on God.

We are called to be Jesus’ hands and feet: to serve others in the name of our Lord.  We best serve Him when we are serving those around us in His name and with His love.  When you serve God it doesn’t feel like a sacrifice, it feels like joy– pure joy.

Jennifer poses a question that I want to offer up to you.  Please respond.  I would love to know what you think.

What does it mean to you to be a living sacrifice? 

8 thoughts on “What Does it Mean to be a Living Sacrifice?

  1. hi amykelly.hmm a living sacrifice was what was preached about this past sunday in church. I believe a living sacrifice is deny self. not conforming ourselves to the world but becoming a different person as Christ will want us to be. Renewing our mindset and becoming more intimate with our Lord. the Lord said be holy for I am Holy so we have to strive to become Holy as he is. we must keep our bodies pure and this includes our mindsets which should think of thing that are pure(phillipiains 4;8) our bodies have to be covered and taking care of ourselves physically. our worship must be holy and without spot or blemish. meaning if we have unclean things in us such as malice,bitterness,unforgiveness,or conducting ourselves as the world do our worship will not be acceptable in the eyes of the Lord. this is what I believe it means. we must be set apart because if we are like the world in the things we do where is the testimony of Christ? lastly storing up our treasures in heaven because this life is a vapor. I hope this helps:) be blessed

  2. Love this Amy…I always thought, and felt, that He gave the ultimate sacrifice of His very life for us. We can’t give that back in return so the greatest sacrifice we can give is our very life lived in full for Him! A LIVING SACRIFICE. Everything I do, giving, loving, serving, working, all in His name here on this earth in His place. We are here in His name in His place as His disciples as His living sacrifices that He stood in our place. We can do no less in return but to live every day of our life for Him!

  3. Amy, you got me thinking. This is so good. What DOES being a “living sacrifice” mean? I think that it means being willing to do whatever God asks of me. If it means giving up my comforts to put God’s kingdom purposes ahead of my own, so be it. It’s an outward and upward posture. How might that LOOK in my life? Maybe it’s serving someone graciously who seriously grates on my nerves. Maybe it’s waking up extra early to make sure DaddyBug has a fresh cup of coffee to grab on his way out. Maybe it’s selling everything I own–all of my earthly treasures–to do outreach overseas. It’s all about being willing to give up my selfish rights to make an eternal impact for Jesus.

  4. Pingback: At the Moment… | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

