Sunday School Class Blues

I have shared often about my Sunday School class, THAT class.  The class began nearly a year and a half ago.  Hubby and I started the class at the behest of our preacher, but we felt that we were truly following God’s plan and being obedient to His will.

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age. Matthew 28: 19-20

THAT class was initially made up of people who already belonged to the church, but had never committed to a Sunday School class: namely Hubby’s sister and brother-in-law and their group of friends.  We saw the addition of Hubby’s mother as well as new church members and singles from our community.  We became a hodgepodge of friends, ranging in ages from mid-20s to 60s.  And it was great!

It was the decision of the group that we wanted to dig deep into the scriptures.  Most admitted that they did not even know how to look up scripture or what the numbers and colon after the books of the bible stood for.  They also admitted that they had no clue what the books of the bible were.  We decided to start at the beginning: Genesis.  And boy what a great beginning it was!!  Those stories from the Old Testament are so gripping!!  Because I was the only one among them who had ever belonged to a Sunday School class before, it was determined that I would prepare and lead the lessons.  So, I am the permanent teacher.

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Colossians 3:16

Then things slowed down.  We lost members.  I mean these people even left our church!  We went from having 13 members present on an average Sunday to me sitting alone with my husband on Sunday morning… and sometimes, he can’t even be there…  The trivia game we would play at the end of each book was no longer any fun because a) no one was there to play or b) the ones who were there had not been there for the lessons and could not answer any of the questions!

By the time we got to Psalms, I knew I needed to put some of the burden of the preparation on them or we would never get through all the chapters.  So, I started a FB group and posted daily readings.  Then on Sunday, I prepared a lesson from what we had read.  The problem was a) no one read the readings and b) no one was looking at the things I posted!

I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment. 1 Corinthians 1:10

So we switched gears.  In a miraculous turn of events, we had a nearly full class a few weeks ago (5 full people AND the preacher).  We decided to do a book study to revitalize our group… then we could go back to our study of the scriptures.  We decided on Max Lucado’s Outlive Your Life, which looks at service through a study of the early church in the book of Acts.  I was excited!  I LOVE Max Lucado!  I have been feeling called to service outside the walls of my church… but we are in the 4th week of a 4 week study and we have only had an introductory lesson and passed out the books… TWO WEEKS AGO.  I am preparing week 1 for a second time.

The sad thing is… I am super excited about this study.  I have lots of ideas.  I have no one to share them with… I am beyond discouraged.

discouragement

Hubby is discouraged to the point of quitting.  He has no patience… and he is ready to disband our class and join another class.  I know God has put us there for a reason… and even if one person shows up (which is often the case), we need to be there for that one person.  But I have no idea how to prepare for each lesson.

I think that… no I KNOW that God is using this class to do a work in me.  I have dug deeper into the scripture than I ever have before.  I am on fire about things that God is putting into action.  But am I the only one who is supposed to get something from this season?  If so, this is a very lonely way to do it.  As knowledgeable as I am becoming, and as confident in my walk with God, I feel like I am ineffective in being a witness when my charges are not committed.

…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

If anyone else has some encouragement for me, I would appreciate it.  Or even suggestions on how to prepare for lessons… Hubby thinks I should plan and teach each week no matter who shows up.  But the truth is, the lessons aren’t that great if no one can join in discussions!  Sigh. I do covet your prayers, if not your advice and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

