No Needy Persons Among Them

I have been leading my class in a study of Max Lucado’s “Outlive Your Life”.  I must say that I am thoroughly enjoying it even if I was one of two people in class this morning.  Sigh. 

But something definitely grabbed me about what I have read.

Acts 3:32-34a (NIV)

32 All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of their possessions was their own, but they shared everything they had. 33 With great power the apostles continued to testify to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus. And God’s grace was so powerfully at work in them all 34 that there were no needy persons among them.

Did you catch what it said?  It said there were no needy persons among them.  No. Needy. Persons.  Can you imagine if we lived like that today?

I did not teach the lesson I had prepared for today because the one other person in class needed an ear to listen.  She has been attending our church for just under a year.  She is a single mother of three, ranging in age from 4-15, with twin boys on the way.  She lives very modestly on tips from her waitressing job, but being pregnant with twins has left her bedridden without an income.  And last week she received a letter from her landlord that she has 10 days to vacate her home.  She does not have a working car.  The one she has still sits where it died at a friend’s house.  She has to borrow a car for her doctor appointments.  She does all she can for her kids, but she is feeling overwhelmed and desperate.

Hubby and I have a modest house and very good jobs… but we do not have any extra money after paying bills.  I often worry about buying groceries or getting new clothes for my kids.  But because we make a decent living, we are not eligible for any assistance.  Thank goodness that my parents are always there to buy school clothes or school supplies.  If they didn’t offer, I do not know what I would do.

But our church is very blessed with large families and small business owners.  We vary from the very poor and needy, like my friend, to the very wealthy and abundantly blessed.  Wouldn’t it be something if we all shared our blessings so that each member of our congregation wanted for nothing?  So that there would be no needy persons among us?

I was excited about our class lesson this morning because I was going to discuss a service project for our community.  But now I feel so torn.  How can we go beyond our walls when there are people within them that are hurting so badly?

I wish this post ended with an answer.  I prayed with my friend and we cried together.  I just wish I could offer more than prayers.

pleasehelpgirl

Leave a Reply

