Presenting the Rhett Walker Band!

I am so excited that in less than a month the Rhett Walker Band will be coming to our town to put on a concert for our church!!  This is a fundraiser for A/V equipment.

image

The Rhett Walker Band is a Grammy-nominated Christian Rock band with a great message.  Rhett himself has an awesome testimony.

Indeed, Rhett is a shining example of faith, family, and country values today—an experienced man who teaches that grace comes with a calling, a clear message in his transformative single “When Mercy Found Me.” But nearly a decade ago, no one would have predicted as much.  “We moved away from my hometown when I was 16, and I didn’t like that. I just went nuts, doing whatever I wanted to do in the moment,” he says. “I mixed with the rough crowd, got into fights and drugs. It wasn’t long before I was expelled from school—just always in trouble. So they sent me to this Christian school, the only one that would take me, and I met this girl. It wasn’t long after that we found out she was pregnant. That was the stop in the path for me.”  Walker grew up in church; he knew the answers to the questions on Sunday morning better than other kids. He’d gone on to play drums in the praise band, too, but generally just stopped caring. Presented with a ton-of-bricks reality at 17, Rhett could stay on the downward spiral or step up.  He stepped up.  “It was like, Man, what am I doing?” he remembers. “I’ve still got my senior year left, but I’ll have to leave this religious school where I’m high most of the time anyway. My girlfriend’s having a baby, and I have no job. I finally sat down with April, who is now my wife, and said: We’ve done everything wrong that we possibly can. Let’s do everything right from here on out.”  Rhett and April got married. He rededicated his life to God, and she accepted Jesus for the first time. He got a diploma, and she made their $300-per-month apartment into a home. They welcomed a daughter, Rileigh, and became active in church where Walker began leading worship. (http://rhettwalkerband.com/)

We are so excited that this man is coming here!!  For us!!  In person!!  And he even has set aside time for a meet-and-greet!  For everyone!

Aren’t they awesome?!! 

So if you happen to live in the state of NC or plan to be in the area on August 11, let me know!  We would love to have you there!  Our youth choir is their opening act!  And we are so excited!  Go to my church website for more details on tickets!

One thought on “Presenting the Rhett Walker Band!

  1. Pingback: At the Moment… | Walk Humbly With God

Leave a Reply

