Sunday School: Outlive Your Life

I have to say that I am ready to move on from Proverbs.  I have truly enjoyed this study, but a month is a long time… and this study was very lonely.

THAT class opted from inception to study the scriptures.  We wanted to dig deep into the Bible from Genesis to Revelation.  We are largely a group of new Christians who have a very minimal knowledge of God’s word… even of the Bible stories that children are brought up listening to and learning from.  But to be honest with you, we have been at it nearly a year and a half and we have just finished Proverbs!  That is a long time… and there is still so far to go!  It is time for a change.  Time for some rejuvenation.  Time for a topical study.  It is time for some Max! 🙂

I LOVE Max Lucado.  When I started with my first Sunday School class nearly 13 years ago, we began with a book study of one of his books that rolled into another and another.  He writes so beautifully and simplistically that it affects you to your very core.  Independently, I have read children’s books, devotionals, and mini-books by Max that have filled me and left me hungry for more of God’s word.

Summer time is usually a time for vacations, trips to the beach or the lake, and lazy Sundays spent sleeping in for the members of my group.  So I wanted to try something different. Something they could take with them.  Something they could read and glean from whether they were with the group in person or in spirit.  Something that would affect them spiritually and leave them wanting more.

Outlive Your Life by Max Lucado

3d-max-lucado-outlive-your-life

These are difficult days in our world’s history. 1.75 billion people are desperately poor, natural disasters are gouging entire nations, and economic uncertainty still reigns across the globe. But you and I have been given an opportunity to make a big difference. What if we did? What if we rocked the world with hope? Infiltrated all corners with God’s love and life? We are created by a great God to do great works. He invites us to outlive our lives, not just in heaven, but here on earth. Let’s live our lives in such a way that the world will be glad we did.

This is a call to service!  This call has been on my heart for most of my life.  Being the yes-girl that I am, I feel God has been calling me (especially recently) to serve.  I am not sure where He is leading me… I already serve my church, my school, and my family in so many ways… but the call is there on my heart, so there has to be more.  I am so excited about this study!  I pray it will speak to my class.  But I also pray it will speak volumes to me.

Anyone else interested in joining me in reading this book?  Link up and let me know you are reading!

Leave a Reply

