Proverbs: What is Your Perspective?

As I worked on my Sunday School lesson for today, I was struck by a few thoughts:

I may be the only person from my group who has gained anything from this study.

Truly, I have posted daily on our Facebook page about what we are reading, but no one is looking.  I have prayed for this study daily, but I am beginning to think God had a plan for me to gain knowledge, not so much for me to lead the others.  It does make it difficult to plan a lesson knowing no one has read the text, but I am persevering all the same.

Different proverbs may speak to you differently– and personally— depending on where you are on your walk at any given time. It’s a matter of perspective

I have been reading and sharing with my group the verses that have spoken to me.  But the more I have thought about it, the more I realize that the verses I highlighted may have been very different a year and a half ago… and may be different still a year from now.  As I struggle with my sin and regaining my confidence and feeling of belonging, I spent more time pouring over the verses that referred to wise people watching what they say.  I have learned a great deal about refraining from gossip, keeping things private, and being slow to speak.  Would the others in my group feel the connection to these same verses that I do?  As the seasons of my life change, will I find importance in different verses?

Proverbs 18:13 (CEV) It's stupid and embarrassing to give an answer before you listen.

Proverbs 18:13 (CEV) It’s stupid and embarrassing to give an answer before you listen.

No matter how much I try to live a life devoted to the Lord and His Perfect Will, I will always fall short.

I find myself mirrored in the lines about the “foolish” more often than the “wise”.  But isn’t that why we needed a Savior?  The Bible is filled with stories of humans who fall short of the Glory of God.  That is why Jesus came.  That is why His life is so important to me… and even more so His death.  He hung from the cross so that I may have eternal life with my Father in Heaven.  I can and will strive to be more wise.  I will uphold the ideals of the proverbs, because I know that is what Jesus would do.  After all, the pursuit of understanding (wisdom) ought to be for the sole purpose of  being better fitted to God’s Will.

Leave a Reply

