Desire to Inspire #6: Time with God

 

Mondays are typically my day to link up with A Royal Daughter and “Desire to Inspire”.  My goal has been to inspire others to actively pray for their spouse.  But, I felt led to change the direction today.

Over the weekend I linked up with She Reads Truth to celebrate their one year anniversary.  I shared that I am an early riser.  I heard from a few people (and I always hear this from members of my Sunday School class and inner circle) how they wished they could make time for God in the mornings.  So, I felt led to share my daily routine with all of you in the hopes that I will inspire you to make time of your own! So, here goes…

I have always been a morning person.  I would rather get my chores done in the morning than at night.  I would rather report to work an hour early than stay an hour late.  I prefer to get “up and at ’em” before the rest of the world gets started.  My alarm is set for 4:45 (and then again for 5:00 just in case…). I hobble blindly to the shower and let the hot water wake me up.  Then I wrap my hair in a towel; bundle up in my old, ratty, comfortable blue robe; and head into the living room to bundle up in my corner of my couch.  I sit in the dark with just the light of a lamp and YouVersion on my iPad.  The house is quiet.

I start with a simple prayer that I wrote when SRT did our study on prayer in the bible:

Dear Father,
I come to you completely open, Lord. Open my eyes so that I may see how I have sinned against you. Open my heart so that I may seek forgiveness from you. Open my mind so that I may recognize that sin and stray from it always. Open my mouth to sing your praises to everyone– how awesome you are and how big is your love!!! Thank you, Lord, that you are a forgiving God!!

I read from Psalm 51.  I feel it is important for me to start my time with God by laying it all on the table.  I have to get my heart and mind right with Him so I can be open and ready for all He has in store for me.  Then, it is time to move on to the plan(s).

image

I love using YouVersion as my bible. I read several different translations of the scriptures so that I can gain better understanding of what God’s Word means for me.

I read the scripture and devotion content.  I make notes about things the author mentions and try to make connections of my own.  I get excited about what I read and write… but the real excitement comes when I go to SRT for the community discussion.  I have to be honest at this point and say that I absolutely hate to be the first one to make a comment.  I get super excited when I see that someone has made it there before me.  I do not always feel led to comment, but I love to read what other people have to say.  I return at the end of the day to see what others have added.  I love the insight that each sister brings to the table!

Afterwards, I close the iPad and get out a different journal.  I bought this one especially for prayer.   At the front of the book, I write a letter to God.  I try to refrain from asking Him for things.  I want that prayer to be all about praise.  I thank Him as much as I can!  It was an idea I got from the SRT prayer study… and I have to say that it has made a huge difference.  Digging deep and finding things to praise Him for and thank Him for… it gives me such a positive outlook on the day!

image

THEN, I turn to the BACK of the book.  At the back, I write prayer concerns.  I ask God to meet each individual where they are and to meet their needs as only He can.  And the best part?  I highlight each prayer request when God answers that prayer.  It is a great way to see God moving in my life and in the lives of others.  Once I have prayed for all those on my list, I pray a special prayer for my church, my Hubby, and my kids.

Just get a load of all those answered prayers!!  God is good!!

Just get a load of all those answered prayers!! God is good!!

At that point, the alarm on my phone is alerting me that it is time to wake up the rest of the house for work or school.  Except for yesterday. God woke me up without the help of an alarm at 4:30am!  On a Sunday!  I was wide awake and ready to face the day.  I had a lot of vlogs to watch on SRT that had been added since my last check.  I had my Sunday School lesson to review.  By the time I was done, it was 6:30.  God impressed on my heart to get up, get out, and get moving.  So, I went for a walk.  I had praise music blaring through my headphones… but I could still hear the blue jays singing overhead.  It was a beautiful morning.  I was home by 7:00 and ready to get the day started.  It was so heavenly!

Not a soul was out during this walk!  It was just me, the squirrels, and the blue jays! :)

Not a soul was out during this walk! It was just me, the squirrels, and the blue jays! 🙂

That’s it.  My alone time usually lasts 30-40 minutes.  Not super long (unlike this morning), but definitely worth it in so many ways.  It took a good month to make it a habit… and during that month the pull of my sisters is what kept me going.  Now, it is all about being closer to God.  Getting to know Him better.

I hope I have inspired you in some way to set aside your own special time with the Lord.  Just know it does NOT have to be in the morning (that is just what works best for me), it does not have to be a set amount of time (it’s quality, not quantity), and it does not have to fit any routine (I like the routine, but you do what works best for YOU).  Take a step out in faith.  You will never regret it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

