My Most Embarrassing Moment

I am following Jenni’s “Everyday in May” challenge… and, yes, I am skipping a few days to try to catch up.

Day 10… Most embarrassing moment.

Whew!  I have had quite a few!  But one stands out in my mind.  It haunted me for some time afterwards… and it is still brought up from time to time.  It is one that I will never truly live down.  I will always be “that girl”.

I had na ice cream date with one of my oldest and dearest friends from high school.  We hadn’t seen each other in a long time.  She was expecting her first baby.  I was beyond excited to have this precious time with one of my favorite people.

This pic of me and Shelley is embarrassing enough!  It just goes to show how far back we go!

This pic of me and Shelley is embarrassing enough! It just goes to show how far back we go!

I was the proud owner of a 2008 Dodge Charger.  It was one HOT car.  It was “arrest me” red.  I loved my car!  I had some time on my hands before having to meet Shelley, so I stopped by the gas station to fill up with gas.  Normally, I would stop at a station owned by church members of mine.  It is full service and they always take good care of me.  But I was in a different part of town… and, like I said I had some time to kill.

I was humming a tune, feeling high on life… I was so excited about my date.  I mindlessly questioned why I could not fully fit the gas pump into the gas tank… but I brushed it aside and just kept humming.  I had paid at the pump, so I hopped back in my gorgeous car and drove less than a mile to Coldstone.

Shelley and I sat and gabbed for several hours.  We had so much to catch up on.  Finally, we realized it was getting late, and we went to our cars to go home.  I started to crank the car, but nothing happened.  I barely got a gurgle out of her.  I tried a few more times to no avail, and finally waved Shelley down to ask for help.  I called Hubby and Shelley offered to take me home.  Hubby and my dad would come back and check on the car as soon as I was home to take care of the kids.  Shelley had the idea to go back by the gas station to see if there were any signs on the gas pump that I might have missed.

You bet there was… how about a little sign that read “DIESEL”!!!  I had FILLED my empty take with the WRONG fuel!!  Oh my!!  I had to call Hubby and fess up.  He called Shelley’s brother to make arrangements to get the car to our uncle’s garage.  All plans failed, and we finally had to use his AAA membership to get the car where we needed it to be.

The good news was I had only driven about 1/4 of a mile.  They drained the tank and made a few adjustments and we were good to go.  The bad news was the diesel corroded some thing-a-ma-bob near some tube thingy and my sweet car started leaking oil on a regular basis.  I had to trade her in for a “mom car”.  I love  really like this car… it has a sun roof and all the button thingys on the steering wheel… but it isn’t my Charger.  Sigh.

This is not MY Charger... but it looks just like it.  Sigh.  I miss my baby...

This is not MY Charger… but it looks just like it. Sigh. I miss my baby…

Now, you are gonna keep this embarrassing moment just between you and me, right?!

Leave a Reply

