May Challenge: The Story of Amy

I stumbled across the blog Story of My Life, beautifully written by Jenni.  She is offering out a May blogging challenge that I found too interesting to pass up!  I am, of course, behind… but that shouldn’t stop me.  So, despite the fact that it is May 4th, I am starting with Day 1: the story of your life in 250 words or less.

I was born in Georgia and have lived most of my life in the south.  I consider myself a true southern lady, genteel and refined… but since I now live in rural NC I am consider more of a Yankee by most since I am not your typical redneck.  I have lived in this town since I was in the fourth grade.  My church is less than two miles up the road.  It was within those walls that I became who I am today, shaped by the many people who love and nurture me.  I met Hubby in high school and we started dating right before graduation.  I always knew I wanted to be a teacher, so with the Teaching Fellows Scholarship I went to Elon College (now University) where I was able to study abroad and see the world.  Hubby and I were married in December of my senior year in college, right before I did my student teaching.  From there, God started molding my testimony.  He provided for us financially as we learned what it meant to be adults.  Big Girl arrived two years later, followed four years after that by Little Man.  Little Man gave us quite a scare during my pregnancy, helping me to lean on and trust in God even more as He continued to mold my testimony from becoming an adult to being a mom.  As our children continue to grow, we continue to grow in our marriage, and I continue to grow in the Lord.  I am blessed with an amazing family.  And although my testimony of the power of God’s love has changed throughout the seasons of my life, I know He is not finished with me.  He is constantly writing new chapters for my testimony so that I may always be a witness for Him.

Oh so long ago... in college.  I was blessed enough to study abroad for a semester in London.  Here I am in the lake district of Switzerland.  Beautiful!

Oh so long ago… in college. I was blessed enough to study abroad for a semester in London. Here I am in the lake district of Switzerland. Beautiful!

hmmm… just over 250.  Eh, who cares?!

Leave a Reply

