I’m Thankful For…

shereadstruth200

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (emphasis mine)

There is so much that I am thankful for. I could talk at great length on how grateful I am for a loving and forgiving husband. I could exhaust the topic of how thankful I am that I have to fabulous, intelligent, talented, and healthy children. I truly appreciate that I have a great job with security, that I have a wonderful church family, and that I have a comfortable home with plenty to eat. I could talk about all that. But today I have decided to talk about something altogether different.

I stumbled upon She Reads Truth through my bible app. It had nearly been a year since my world had fallen apart, and I was looking for peace and direction through bible study. I began browsing the different devotion options on YouVersion, and my eyes fell on a title that I could not pass up: FRESH START.

Psalm 75:1 (NCV) God, we thank you; we thank you because you are near. We tell about the miracles you do. (emphasis mine)

A fresh start was exactly what I needed. I was still suffering tremendously… torturing myself over my sins. I needed what that devotion was offering me. I needed to feel refreshed and to be able to start over again.

I cannot put into words how thankful I am that GOD brought me to this community. I began delving deeper into His Word. I began thinking about Him differently– about myself differently. I admitted my sin openly to the group and found love and acceptance there. And I began to feel different about myself.

Psalm 107:1 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. (emphasis mine)

Suddenly my days were seeming brighter. I was getting up earlier and earlier to make time to mediate on God’s Word, share with my fellow sisters, and learn from what they were sharing with me. I hated to see the Fresh Start end… I was feeling so much better, but I was still not feeling like I was where I should be.

God answered that through SRT with the next devotion/study: the Soul Detox. YES! I was making a fresh start, I just needed to get rid of the toxins in my life and get closer to God. And I did! I made notes feverishly. I highlighted and bookmarked passages like there was no tomorrow. I began memorizing scripture. All the while, I had cyber friends that were completing the journey with me. They prayed for me. They shared with me. They encouraged me. I tried to return in kind as often as I was able.

I am so thankful for the She Reads Truth community. No, I may never meet these beautiful women who have been sharing their souls with me… but I love each and every one. And I am eternally grateful to God for them all.

2 thoughts on “I’m Thankful For…

  1. Amy, that was beautiful. I always enjoy your posts because they are so honest and so encouraging. I, too, have been blessed by SRT and look forward every morning to what others like yourself have to share about the Word. Your blog is wonderful, keep up the good work! It is so necessary in this day and age of hurting souls! I just recently started my own, felt led of The Lord for a long, long time, (and my husband, ha),but afraid to step out of the boat….the response has been overwhelming. Prayer requests are pouring in, just what I wanted it to be, and God is opening doors. I believe if we make ourselves available, as you are, He will use us! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

